Forever Humboldt

Awards & Recognition

Forever Humboldt honors our students and alumni with a pair of awards: the Distinguished Alumni award, which honors the outstanding contributions of HSU alumni and the Alumni Scholarship, which supports the education of today's students.

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Humboldt State University has been recognizing the achievements of alumni since 1960 when it launched its annual Who’s Who Award. Distinguished alumni are individuals recognized as leaders in their fields, and/or outstanding contributors to their community, nation, or Humboldt State University.

Humboldt State University alumni have made contributions to all areas of society and culture. A short list of outstanding recipients includes Rick Rosenthal, multiple Emmy and BAFTA award- winning cinematographer; R. W. Hicks, NCAA All American and NFL player; Deputy Creative Director of National Geographic magazine, Kaitlin Yarnall; Monroe Spaght, former president and chairman of Shell Oil; Bruce Jackson, Vice President of Trade Controls/Export Strategy  with Virgin Galactic, the world’s first space tourism company;  and author and CEO of Fisher Investments, Kenneth L. Fisher.

Previous Recipients

Nominate Now

Nominations are due to the Forever Humboldt Office by January 13, 2017 (Alumni & Engagement, HSU, 1 Harpst Street, Arcata, CA 95521 - or - Fax 707-826-5148).

Alumni Association Scholarship

Alumni Supporting Today's Students

Humboldt's alumni are dedicated to the success of today's HSU students and they show that loyalty with their support of the Alumni Association Scholarship. Every year HSU students are selected by a committee of Humboldt State alumni to receive the scholarship.

Scholarship recipients are selected on their academic achievement, activities, and need.  Students must be related to an HSU alum and demonstrate a commitment to academic achievement and a financial need. Students who apply must be a full-time student for the following academic year in order to receive the scholarship award.

Alumni Association scholarships are funded by member donations and Forever Humboldt Alumni fundraising activities.  

The 2016-2017 Scholarship recipients will be announced late January. If you have any questions email us at or visit our office in Nelson Hall East 112. 

View recipients