Forever Humboldt

Alumni Updates

Charlene Varney, Social Work , 1993

July 7, 2018

Charlene Varney, Social Work, 1993, worked for various California State agencies, county agencies, non-profits, and tribal governments in various social services programs in support of families, disabled adults, and frail elderly. She currently lives and works in Sacramento, CA, with her eldest granddaughter.

David, Wildlife , 1983

July 6, 2018

Dave Feliz, Wildlife, 1983, is the Reserve Manager for the Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve in Monterey County, California. This is one of 30 Reserves around the nation, set up to conduct research, habitat restoration and education on lands adjacent to and including estuarine habitats. These are all state/federal partnerships with the National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) partnering with state entities. The state partner at the Elkhorn Slough is the California Department of Fish and Wildlife. Dave has been working for the Department since 1984, managing lands in various parts of California.

Gerald R Jones, Fisheries Biology Aquaculture, 1988

June 5, 2018

Gerald R Jones, Fisheries Biology, 1988, has been working for ODFW for 14 years as a fish pathologist/fish health specialist.

Jeffrey Rich, Wildlife , 1983

June 4, 2018

Jeffrey Rich, Wildlife, 1983, has a new book out, “Bald Eagles in The Wild”: http://www.jeffrichphoto.com

Colin Gallagher, Natural Resources , 1997

June 1, 2018

Colin Gallagher, Natural Resources, 1997, went into the U.S. Peace Corps after Humboldt graduation of 1997. He came back to the U.S.A. in 2000. He worked various local government gigs, picked up a master’s degree along the way. He got into crypto and helped design cryptocurrencies and electronic wallets in a manner so as to foster efficient microdonations in the early years of decentralized cryptos (2009 - 2015). He did a software QA gig. He is currently working for a crypto-fiat exchange and enjoying life.

Jim Peña, Other- Forest Resource Management, 1980

May 9, 2018

Jim Peña, Forest Resource Management, 1980, is currently serving as Regional Forester of the Pacific Northwest Region of the Forest Service. He will be retiring in July with forty years of service. He has had the privilege of serving at all levels of the agency.

Dora Mitchell, Art , 2008

May 2, 2018

Dora Mitchell, Art, 2008, has a debut novel, an illustrated children’s mystery titled “The Haunted Serpent,” which is being published in hardcover by Sterling Children’s Books on June 5, 2018. Kirkus Reviews said “Fans of Dan Poblocki, John Bellairs, and R.L. Stine will all be right at home and smiling at the shivers (and the jokes).” Booklist said, “Mitchell’s well-developed kid characters and excellent caricatures (both written and visual) of the evil adult despots make this paranormal read engaging and goosebump-inducing,” and School Library Journal called it “a spooky, high-interest adventure for reluctant readers and fans of action-packed tales.”

Ron L. Anderson, Physics & Astronomy , 2002

May 1, 2018

Ron L. Anderson, Physics & Astronomy, 2002, is working at the US Naval Observatory working with earth orientation and orbital scientists. This is a great location for students hoping for intern experience or a possible career move.

Holly McLaughlin, Liberal Studies Elementary Education Multiple Subject Credential, 2017

April 22, 2018

Holly McLaughlin, Liberal Studies Elementary Education, 2017, teaches fifth grade at Washington Elementary school.

Daniel Mandell, History , 1979

April 11, 2018

Daniel Mandell, History, 1979, is a Professor of history and has been appointed Distinguished Research Fellow at the Kinder Institute on Constitutional Democracy at the University of Missouri for 2018-2019.  The Kinder Institute is an interdisciplinary effort of the history and political science departments, and since its creation in 2014 has blossomed into one of the most active intellectual centers in the region.  During his year at the Kinder, Mandell will participate in the Institute’s programs and begin a study of the evolving conundrum between individual and collective rights in the United States as highlighted by the history of Native American policies and laws.

Pages